January 16, 2019 Minutes

Meeting Minutes- January 16, 2019


The Churubusco Town Council met for the regular meeting on January 16, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. in the Town Hall. Members present were Council Members Mark Pepple and Nathan Van Horn; and Clerk- Treasurer, Madalyn Sade-Bartl. Also in attendance were area residents Pat Liggett and Pat Holler; Nicole Minier, Churubusco News; Jeremy Hart, Town Supervisor; Bob Gray, Wastewater Superintendent, and Marshal Mike Engle.


President Kessler called the meeting to order, welcomed visitors, and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Roll was called by the Clerk-Treasurer. Council member Bruce Johnson was absent.


Approval of December 19, 2018, January 2, 2019, and January 9, 2019 meeting minutes:

Because Mr. Johnson was not present and Mr. Van Horn was not a member of the Council on December 19, 2018, approval of the December 19, 2018 was tabled until February 6, 2019.


Mr. Van Horn made a motion to approve the January 2, 2019 and January 9, 2019 minutes as presented. President Pepple seconded, and the motion carried 2-0.


Approval of Claims and Payroll Vouchers:

Claims Vouchers dated for January 16, 2019 in the amount of $294,782.38 were presented and approved.


Public Comment:

Pat Holler approached the Council and expressed her displeasure in the water rates increasing and questioned the effective date of the rate. Ms. Bartl explained the ordinance was passed in September and the effective date for water rate billing was January 1, 2019. She continued by criticizing the amount of time Ms. Bartl spent in her office and questioned why Ms. Bartl was not in the office collecting utility payments. Ms. Bartl explained her position included more than receiving utility bills and cited Indiana Code set what was required of her and her job duties. President Pepple closed the public comment section.


Old Business:

There was no old business.


New Business:

  1. 1.       On-call Contract for DLZ Engineering: Ms. Bartl presented to the Council a contract for DLZ Engineering and their on-call services. She explained past Councils have signed the rate agreement annually and it was for services above and beyond what was identified within the current Community Crossings contract. Mr. Van Horn made a motion to approve DLZ’s on-call contract. President Pepple seconded, and the motion carried 2-0.
  2. 2.       Appointments for Plan Commission: Ms. Bartl stated the Council needed to make their appointments to the Plan Commission and replace a citizen appointment. Mr. Johnson, Mr. Pepple, and Mr. Hart were serving as the Town’s appointments, but the Planning & Building director had notified her that those appointments could be changed. Mr. Van Horn had served as a resident appointment, but could no longer serve in that capacity since he was now an elected official. The caveat to that appointment was that the appointment had to be filled by a Democrat. Ms. Bartl stated she had spoken with former Town Council member, Viv Sade, and Ms. Sade was open to serving on the Commission. Ms. Bartl also stated she would like to serve as she felt she was probably the most familiar with the Town’s Comprehensive Plan and was very familiar with the Zoning Ordinance. Mr. Hart also stated he would continue to serve if the Council would like him to. Mr. Van Horn made a motion to appoint Madalyn Sade-Bartl, Jeremy Hart, and Mark Pepple as the Town’s Plan Commission appointments for 2018 and appoint Viv Sade to fill the vacated resident appointment. President Pepple seconded, and the motion carried 2-0.
  3. 3.       Quick Impact Placebased (QUIP) Grant Program: Ms. Bartl informed the Council that OCRA was accepting applications for the QUIP Program. Bartl explained the program a little more in depth and presented a new mural that could be used as a possible project. Mr. Van Horn made a motion to approve the project and advance in applying for QUIP. President Pepple seconded, and the motion carried 2-0. She stated she would keep the Council updated as the application progressed.
  4. 4.       Department Head Job Descriptions: Mr. Van Horn expressed his desire to create job descriptions for department heads. President Pepple agreed it was overdue and asked Ms. Bartl to gather samples from other communities. She stated she would get them that information.


Department Reports:

Jeremy Hart, Town Supervisor

Mr. Hart presented the attached report. President Pepple thanked Hart and his crew for the prompt job in clearing the snow.


Bob Gray, Waste Water Treatment Plant Supervisor

Mr. Gray stated the land application had been completed.

Michael Engle, Town Marshal:

Marshal Engle had nothing to report.


Rick Krider, Park Supervisor:

Mr. Krider was not present.


Ron Felger, Town Attorney:

Mr. Felger was not present


Council Reports:

President Mark Pepple:

President Pepple reported he had attended the Regional Sewer District meeting and there were still a lot of concerns and issues plaguing the RSD. He also stated he would be talking to Lana privately about Churubusco’s concerns.


Bruce Johnson:

Mr. Johnson was not present.


Nathan Van Horn:

Mr. Van Horn stated he had done a ride along with Mr. Hart and appreciated him showing him around.


Madalyn Sade-Bartl:

Ms. Sade-Bartl presented the attached report. She highlighted her desire to move the Clerk’s office to the old fire station on Line Street. She explained that with the increased duties the Clerk’s office and the lack of privacy in the current office, a bigger space was needed. President Pepple advised her to obtain quotes. She also reported that she had attended an exclusive legislative dinner in Indianapolis earlier in the week with Representative David Abbott. She stated that Representative Abbott had expressed his support of local entities and wanted to work with locals in passing legislation. President Pepple asked Ms. Bartl how the Council could get him to Churubusco and really showcase our community. Ms. Bartl stated she had his personal contact information. President Pepple asked her to make contact and get him here.


Having no other business and after all proper papers were signed, President Pepple adjourned the meeting.




Council President, Mark Pepple



Council Member, Bruce Johnson




Council Member, Nathan Van Horn








Madalyn Sade-Bartl, Clerk-Treasurer


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply